Jul 16, 2018
29 Views
0 0

World Cup ultimate: Was Ivan Perisic handball a penalty?

Written by

World Cup ultimate: Was Ivan Perisic handball a penalty?

World Cup 2018: Antoine Griezmann tucks away controversial VAR penalty

Ridiculous? Or the proper determination?

There was little question about probably the most controversial second in Sunday’s World Cup final.

France went 2-1 forward in opposition to Croatia in Moscow thanks in no small half to the video assistant referee.

When a flick-on from Samuel Umtiti struck the left arm of Ivan Perisic within the Croatia space, Argentine referee Nestor Pitana didn’t award a penalty.

However, after consulting with the VAR, he then watched it again on a pitchside digicam and altered his thoughts, awarding a spot-kick that Antoine Griezmann slotted dwelling.

Was it deliberate handball? Did Perisic have time to maneuver his hand out of the way in which?

France went on to win the match 4-2, profitable the World Cup for the second time.

This is how the BBC Sport pundits noticed the important thing incident.

Former England striker Alan Shearer on BBC One: “There is no such thing as a manner a ridiculous determination like that must be deciding this ultimate. It would not deserve it after the match we’ve got had.

“Croatia have been good and they’re shedding this sport due to a free-kick that wasn’t a free-kick and a penalty that wasn’t a penalty.

“Will probably be a crying disgrace if this sport is set by that call.”

Former England defender Rio Ferdinand on BBC One: “You’ll be able to’t 100% say it is a penalty and he meant that. He is not intentionally attempting to deal with that ball.

“It is too near him to react. The actual fact the referee took so lengthy to decide, he cannot be sure.”

Former Germany supervisor Jurgen Klinsmann on BBC One: “When you’re unsure, you do not give it. It was the improper determination.”

Former England midfielder Chris Waddle on BBC Radio 5 reside: “I feel it’s a penalty. I’d have given it. Perisic has stopped the ball going by way of along with his hand.”

France VAR penalty: "You’ll be able to’t say 100% this can be a penalty"

France’s first aim got here from a controversially awarded free-kick. Replays confirmed Marcelo Brozovic, who was closest to Griezmann, didn’t contact him because the Frenchman fell.

From Griezmann’s curling free-kick, Mario Mandzukic headed into his personal internet to offer France the lead.

“It is a dive,” stated Shearer. “Brozovic goes in to shut him down and Griezmann was anticipating to be hit and he wasn’t.”

Ferdinand added: “Two dangerous selections have turned the sport on its head.”

Former England participant Sir Trevor Brooking, talking on BBC Radio 5 reside, stated: “I’m so aggravated. It was by no means, ever a free-kick. Griezmann hardly acquired touched.”

World Cup 2018: Personal aim from Croatia’s Mario Mandzukic give France early lead

How VAR works

How followers reacted

BBC Sport – Football
ultras_FC_Barcelona

Article Categories:
Football

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *