Jul 31, 2018
0 0

RideLondon-Surrey Traditional: Pascal Ackermann beats Elia Viviani in dash end

Written by

RideLondon-Surrey Traditional: Pascal Ackermann beats Elia Viviani in dash end

Ackermann sprints to RideLondon-Surrey Traditional win

Germany’s Pascal Ackermann surged previous his rivals to win the RideLondon-Surrey Traditional in a bunch dash end.

The 24-year-old Bora-Hansgrohe rider kicked with 200m to go on the Mall to carry off Italy’s Elia Viviani and win in 4 hours 20 minutes 11 seconds.

Viviani’s compatriot Giacomo Nizzolo completed third and Britain’s Mark Cavendish 12th.

The 183km race got here all the way down to a dash end after a five-man break was caught with 6km remaining.

Ackermann received the second stage of the Criterium du Dauphine in June.

“It was a tremendous job with how the group introduced me again in the long run. I crashed in the course of the race however got here again,” he instructed BBC Sport.

“I spoke to the group yesterday and instructed them I used to be in actually good condition and we did it. I’m actually proud.”

The German highway race champion timed his effort up the within to perfection as Fast-Step Flooring rider Viviani ran out of fuel.

A breakaway group containing Bahrain-Merida riders Valerio Agnoli and Manuele Boaro stayed clear till the ultimate levels.

Cavendish stayed close to the entrance of the peloton all through, flanked by his Dimension Knowledge team-mates, however because the dash trains assembled on the Mall he was too far again to affect the end result.

The RideLondon-Surrey Traditional – billed because the world’s richest one-day race with a complete prize fund of 100,000 euros (£89,000) – was awarded top-tier World Tour standing in 2016.

Race consequence

1. Pascal Akermann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) 4hrs 20minutes 11secs

2. Elia Viviani (Ita/Fast-Step Flooring) identical time

3. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita/Trek-Segafredo)

4. Ivan Garcia Cortina (Spa/Bahrain-Merida)

5. Simone Consonni (Ita/UAE Group Emirates)

6. Phil Bauhaus (Ger/Group Sunweb)

7. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Fra/BMC Racing)

8. Andre Greipel (Ger/Lotto Soudal)

9. Jonas Koch (Ger/CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

10. Rudy Barbier (Fra/AG2R La Mondiale)

BBC Sport – Cycling

Article Categories:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *