Jul 30, 2018
0 0

RideLondon Classique: Kirsten Wild beats Marianne Vos in dash on The Mall

Written by

RideLondon Classique: Kirsten Wild beats Marianne Vos in dash on The Mall

Wild outsprints Vos to win RideLondon Classique
RideLondon, 28-29 July
Sunday’s BBC protection: BBC Two (11:00-12:00 BST); full race reside on BBC Purple Button & BBC Sport web site (from 15:30) and BBC One (from 15:50)

Kirsten Wild timed her dash to perfection to win the ladies’s RideLondon Classique on The Mall.

The Wiggle High5 rider got here previous fellow Dutchwoman Marianne Vos within the last 20m of the 65km, 12-lap race.

Italian Elisa Balsamo was third throughout the road, with final yr’s winner Coryn Rivera of Group Sunweb in sixth.

Alice Barnes was the highest-placed Briton in ninth, whereas Waowdeals Professional Biking rider Dani Rowe received the dash competitors, choosing up 13 factors.

Exemplary ways and nerve ensured that Wild, 35, grew to become the primary girl to win this occasion twice, having beforehand claimed victory in 2016.

Whereas Vos’ dash faltered, Wild – positioned away from a crash that broken the hopes of various main contenders, together with Rivera – judged her effort completely.

Kirsten Wild grew to become the primary girl to win the RideLondon Classique twice

There was additionally a measure of success for Wild’s former team-mate Rowe, with the Briton gaining probably the most factors within the three dash finishes on laps three, six and 9.

Twice edged into second, she accrued some extent greater than Amy Pieters of Boels-Dolman, with Leah Kirchmann of Group Sunweb, final yr’s winner of the intermediate sprints, ending third.

The Classique, a part of the ladies’s UCI WorldTour, is probably the most profitable ladies’s one-day race with a prize pool of 100,000 euros (£89,000), which equals the whole prize pool for the lads’s race on Sunday.

Briton Mark Cavendish will feature after failing to finish the Tour de France, with the race being proven reside on BBC Two, Purple Button and the BBC Sport web site and app from 11:00 BST.

General race outcome

  1. Kirsten Wild (Ned/Wiggle-High5) 1hr 29minutes 51secs
  2. Marianne Vos (Ned/Woawdeals Professional Biking) identical time
  3. Elisa Balsamo (Ita/Valcar PBM)
  4. Chloe Hosking (Aus/Ale-Cipollini)
  5. Lotta Lepisto (Fin/Cervelo-Bigla)

BBC Sport – Cycling

Article Categories:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *